Grade 2 Certificate


Multisport Grade 2 Certificate Whitewater Course

 

 

Preparation for The Kathmandu Coast to Coast - $969 NZD

 

  • All kayaking equipment is provided
  • No previous experience required 
  • Experienced and qualified instructors 
  • Coast to Coast approved Grade II Provider 
  • Registered and approved Adventure Activity Operator 

 

The aim of this course is to introduce you to multi-sport kayaking in a safe and simple manner. Topsport Kayaking will teach you all the essential river skills you need to compete successfully in the Kathmandu Coast to Coast. Our instructors will share their river paddling expertise with you as well as useful tips and skills for racing.

 

Our Christchurch based course runs over a 5-day program. Your course includes an indoor pool session followed by either four or five days of whitewater kayak instruction. The first two or three days will be in short white water kayaks, with the remaining two days in long multi-sport kayaks. This allows ours instructors to teach you the basics of white water paddling and helps you to learn the core skills you need in whitewater before progressing to your multi-sport boat. 

 

We will cover the following skills throughout the program:

 

  • Boat & Paddle setup
  • Gear & Equipment
  • Rolling your kayak
  • Forward Strokes
  • Sweep Strokes
  • Edging
  • Ferry Glides
  • Rapid and Bluff Running
  • Picking Braids
  • Identifying River Features and Hazards
  • Wet-exits
  • Swimming Skills
  • Self Rescues & Throw-bagging
  • Interpreting Weather & River Flow Data

Topsport Kayaking have been training kayakers for the Coast to Coast for over 20 years. Our current crew has raced in over 25 Coast to Coast events from the teams section to Longest Day. This year Kate had the fastest overall female kayak split for the event and her team Topsport Kayaking posting the fastest time for the race. In 2017 Sam Manson had an outstanding day to finish third in the Longest Day!

 

 Contact us today for an information pack!

 

2020 Dates - Book Now!

 

 

 

 Course Two - ONE Space Left
Day 1   Thursday 5th March 
Day 2 Friday 6th March 
Day 3 Saturday 7th March 
Day 4 Sunday 8th March 

 

 

 

 

 Course Three - BOOKED OUT
Day 1   Thursday 12th March 
Day 2 Friday 13th March 
Day 3 Saturday 14th March 
Day 4 Sunday 15th March 

 

 

 

 

 Course Four March 2020 
Day 1   Thursday 19th March 
Day 2 Friday 20th March 
Day 3 Saturday 21st March 
Day 4 Sunday 22nd March 

 

 

 

 

 Course Five March 2020 - BOOKED OUT
Day 1   Thursday 26th March 
Day 2 Friday 27th March 
Day 3 Saturday 28th March 
Day 4 Sunday 29th March 

 

 

 

 

 Course Six - BOOKED OUT
Day 1   Thursday 2nd April 
Day 2 Friday 3rd April 
Day 3 Saturday 4th April 
Day 4 Sunday 5th April 

 

 

 

 

 Course Seven - BOOKED OUT
Day 1   Thursday 16th April 
Day 2 Friday 17th April 
Day 3 Saturday 18th April 
Day 4 Sunday 19th April 

 

Courses will then up again in the September. Contact us to book your Spring place info@topsport.co.nz

 

 

 Contact us today for an information pack!